At B, we use our passion for the design and development of spatial solutions to build a better society with the city as main target.

History

Back in 1997, Evert Crols, Dirk Engelen and Sven Grooten set up an independent office for architecture: B-architecten was born. The three had met during their education in Antwerp and Amsterdam. At the internationally oriented Berlage Institute, it became clear that Evert, Dirk and Sven shared a common design interest. Today, the office is located in Antwerp and Brussels.

Ten years after the foundation of B-architecten, they started a new initiative together with Sebastiaan Leroy: B-bis architecten became an office that focuses on small architectural projects, residential interior design, offices and shops, scenographies for exhibitions and performing arts, temporary installations and furniture design.

In 2020, B-city was launched as a third B-platform with the aim to shape and supervise complex urban projects. The core of its ambition is to work on large-scale projects that carry the potential of becoming new city districts.

Today, B-architecten, B-bis and B-city have naturally grown into an office of more than 70 people. Each B-team has its particular focus and way of functioning, yet they all share a distinct innovative view on the variety of projects the B-platforms stand for.

What we do

At B, we believe that every single person can make a positive difference in life. We use our passion for the design and development of spatial solutions to build a better society with the city as main target.

We do more than develop buildings: we are a platform of talented designers who want to have an impact on the urban planning policies and improve the quality of life in doing so. Design is our core business – from door handle to city district – but we equally invest in innovative research, we publish and debate, teach at different universities, take our own initiatives and seize opportunities to push the boundaries of our profession.

For us, a better living environment can be achieved by urban densification. It will allow an optimized mix of experience, concentration, sustainability, quality, equality, human scale and technology. To achieve this we trust the power of our platform and the clever alliances we forge with complementary partners.

Every project is an opportunity to question, investigate and try out. We dare to question the question, we add to its value and let the design stem from the solution in a logical, but equally surprising way. All our projects are therefore unique. We deploy the knowledge and experience we have built over the years as a source of inspiration for new colleagues and other talents.

We are dreaming pragmatics, eager about tradition with respect for the future.

How we work

In 2017, our office transformed from a traditional top-down business model to an organisation that is focused on self-managing employees who are heavily involved in the decision making.

Today, we are a close group of workers who carry a shared responsibility for the entire company process – internally and externally. We do not speak in terms of positions or tasks, but instead, there are roles and objectives. Everyone has their own autonomous responsibilities. One employee can fulfill one or several of these roles, for every one of which goals and expectations are determined after consultation with other members of the team.

Important assets of this organisational structure are the division of power, clear agreements and transparent consultation structures. They make the engine of the mechanism. In this self-managing business system we share knowledge and make decisions based on mutual advice in the entire company’s interest.

Yet, we believe well-being is just as important as prosperity. That’s why we have a rich tradition of well-developed team activities, such as a daily healthy lunch for all employees, snacks, pilates lessons on Wednesdays and the monthly B-café, where we invite external speakers to give a lecture. Every year we go on a day trip to B-projects in the implementation phase and in the month September we always go on a two-day trip. The working year is traditionally closed with a BBQ in the courtyard of our B-office.

Who we are

General management

Sven Grooten
architect, founding partner, general director
sven.grooten@b-architecten.be
+32 3 231 82 28

Finances

Tine Delbare
financial director
tine.delbare@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 32

Operations, HR & IT

Klaas Adriaensen
architect, personnel manager & operational director
klaas.adriaensen@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 70

Reflection room

Evert Crols
architect, founding partner
evert.crols@b-architecten.be
+32 3 231 82 28

Revit room

Hans Bogaert
BIM coordinator
hans.bogaert@b-architecten.be
+32 3 270 05 83

Technical platform

Dirk Engelen
architect, founding partner
dirk.engelen@b-architecten.be
+32 3 231 82 28

Stefan Hooijmans
engineer-architect, project leader
stefan.hooijmans@b-architecten.be
+32 3 375 44 15

Care

Gerda Swinnen
office manager
gerda.swinnen@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 32

Communications

Laura Bonne
communications
laura.bonne@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 30

Administration

Arati Van Hoof
administrative assistant
arati.van.hoof@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 32

Facilities

B-geester

Hanne De Vos
architect, team leader
hanne.de.vos@b-architecten.be
+32 3 270 05 89

Sustainability

Stéphanie Collier
engineer-architect, team leader
stephanie.collier@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 69

Caroline Arts
engineer-architect, project architect
caroline.arts@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 41

Inclusion

Pierre Jadoul
architect, project architect
pierre.jadoul@b-architecten.be
+32 3 304 60 91

Patrimony

Dirk Engelen
architect, founding partner
dirk.engelen@b-architecten.be
+32 3 231 82 28

Team leaders

Christophe Combes
engineer-architect, team leader
christophe.combes@b-architecten.be
+32 3 270 05 84

Hanne De Vos
architect, team leader
hanne.de.vos@b-architecten.be
+32 3 270 05 89

Karol Grygolec
architect, team leader
karol.grygolec@b-architecten.be
+32 3 270 05 85

Olmo Peeters
architect, team leader
olmo.peeters@b-architecten.be
+32 3 270 05 82

Stéphanie Collier
engineer-architect, team leader
stephanie.collier@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 69

Project leaders

Alexandra Hoet
engineer-architect, project leader
alexandra.hoet@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 62

An-Sofie Michielsen
architect, project leader
an-sofie.michielsen@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 57

Aude De Broissia
architect, project leader
aude.de.broissia@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 64

Brecht Van Duppen
architect, project leader
brecht.van.duppen@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 52

Caroline Huybrechts
engineer-architect, project leader
caroline.huybrechts@b-architecten.be
+32 3 270 05 80

Cristina Magro Baroni
architect, project leader
cristina.magro.baroni@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 66

Domien Wuyts
architect, project leader
domien.wuyts@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 37

Enrico Onofri
architect, project leader
enrico.onofri@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 31

Evelien van de Riet
engineer-architect, project leader
evelien.van.de.riet@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 61

Jens Van Hauwermeiren
engineer-architect, project leader
jens.van.hauwermeiren@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 56

Kim Vanthienen
engineer-architect, project leader
kim.vanthienen@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 51

Louise Lauwers
architect, project leader
louise.lauwers@b-architecten.be
+32 3 270 05 81

Ruben Stuijk
architect, project leader
ruben.stuijk@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 59

Toon Van Mieghem
engineer-architect, project leader
toon.van.mieghem@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 50

Project architects

Aya Iskandarani
architect, project architect
aya.iskandarani@b-architecten.be
+32 3 375 44 17

Bram Rooijakkers
architect, project architect
bram.rooijakkers@b-architecten.be
+32 3 375 44 19

Caroline Arts
engineer-architect, project architect
caroline.arts@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 41

Celia Tesseur
architect, project architect
celia.tesseur@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 42

David Berkvens
architect, project architect
david.berkvens@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 44

Deborah Mortelmans
architect, project architect
deborah.mortelmans@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 55

Dion Lobregt
architect, project architect
dion.lobregt@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 67

Fleur Peeters
architect, project architect
fleur.peeters@b-architecten.be
+32 3 304 60 95

Gerben Van Wauwe
architect, project architect
gerben.van.wauwe@b-architecten.be
+32 3 304 60 96

Harout Haleblian
architect, project architect
harout.haleblian@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 79

Ignace De Keyser
architect, project architect
ignace.de.keyser@b-architecten.be
+32 3 375 44 22

Inge Stevens
architect, project architect
inge.stevens@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 58

Isis Desmaison
architect, project architect
isis.desmaison@b-architecten.be
+32 3 304 60 90

James Scott
architect, project architect
james.scott@b-architecten.be
+32 3 304 60 92

Jonas Vandecan
architect, project architect
jonas.vandecan@b-architecten.be
+32 3 375 44 20

Jose Ignacio Castellitti
architect, project architect
jose.castellitti@b-architecten.be
+32 3 375 44 14

Juanjo Cubí Hernández
architect, project architect
juanjo.cubi.hernandez@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 77

Kristina Buzaityte
architect, project architect
kristina.buzaityte@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 78

Larissa van Aalst
engineer-architect, project architect
larissa.van.aalst@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 43

Leonie Dekoning
engineer-architect, project architect
leonie.dekoning@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 74

Lisse Vanbrabant
architect, project architect
lisse.vanbrabant@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 73

Louise Malan
architect, project architect
louise.malan@b-architecten.be
+32 3 375 44 12

Lucas Renson
architect, project architect
lucas.renson@b-architecten.be
+32 3 375 44 18

Nathalie Lambregts
architect, project architect
nathalie.lambregts@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 38

Nuno Costa
architect, project architect
nuno.costa@b-architecten.be
+32 3 375 44 11

Onur Can Zorlutuna
architect, project architect
onur.zorlutuna@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 48

Pauline Theobald
architect, project architect
pauline.theobald@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 35

Philip Ceyssens
engineer-architect, project architect
philip.ceyssens@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 45

Pierre Jadoul
engineer-architect, project architect
pierre.jadoul@b-architecten.be
+32 3 304 60 91

Sam Neel
architect, project architect
sam.neel@b-architecten.be
+32 3 304 60 93

Sergiu Smantana
architect, project architect
sergiu.smantana@b-architecten.be
+32 3 304 60 94

Ton Padullés
architect, project architect
ton.padulles@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 53

Viktor Bruynseels
architect, project architect
viktor.bruynseels@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 64

Zuzana Pùcha
architect, project architect
zuzana.pucha@b-architecten.be
+32 3 302 43 49

Designers

Alexandra Hoet - An-Sofie Michielsen - Aude De Broissia - Aya Iskandarani - Bram Rooijakkers - Brecht Van Duppen - Caroline Arts - Caroline Huybrechts - Celia Tesseur - Christophe Combes - Cristina Magro Baroni - David Berkvens - Deborah Mortelmans - Dion Lobregt - Dirk Engelen - Domien Wuyts - Enrico Onofri - Evelien van de Riet - Evert Crols - Fleur Peeters - Gerben Van Wauwe - Hanne De Vos - Harout Haleblian - Ignace De Keyser - Inge Stevens - Isis Desmaison - James Scott - Jens Van Hauwermeiren - Jonas Vandecan - Jose Ignacio Castellitti - Juanjo Cubí Hernández - Karol Grygolec - Kim Vanthienen - Kristina Buzaityte - Larissa van Aalst - Leonie Dekoning - Lisse Vanbrabant - Louise Lauwers - Louise Malan - Lucas Renson - Nathalie Lambregts - Nuno Costa - Olmo Peeters - Onur Can Zorlutuna - Pauline Theobald - Philip Ceyssens - Pierre Jadoul - Ruben Stuijk - Sam Neel - Sergiu Smantana - Stefan Hooijmans - Stéphanie Collier - Sven Grooten - Ton Padullés - Toon Van Mieghem - Viktor Bruynseels - Zuzana Pùcha

Awards

2022 - Shortlist FEBE Elements Awards, category 'Outstanding Precast' - GO! talent

2022 - Shortlist Belgian Building Award, category 'herbestemming' - Qville

2021 - Belgian Construction Award, category 'circular building' - Roeselare town hall

2021 - RES Award, category 'residential development' - Qville

2021 - Shortlist VRP Planningsprijs, category 'afgerond planningstraject' - Turnova

2021 - Nomination Brick Awards - Erasmus University College

2021 - Nomination Brussels Architecture Prize, category ‘large intervention’ - Centr’Al

2021 - Nomination Brussels Architecture Prize, category ‘small intervention’ - Station of Laken

2021 - Belgian Building Award, category 'circular building' - Mundo-a

2020 - Nomination Brick Awards - Depart

2019 - Gilbert Van Schoonbeke Award - Turnova master plan

2019 - ARC19 Architecture Award - Mundo-a

2019 - Laureate Publica Awards, category 'heritage & architecture' - Station of Laken

2019 - Laureate Jo Crepain Award, most innovative architecture office

2018 - FEBE Elements Awards, category 'Precast in Buildings' - Turnova tower

2018 - Laureate Staalbouwwedstrijd, category 'utiliteitsbouw' - Het Moment

2018 - Honourable mention Bis architecture competition, theme 'herbestemming' - Het Moment

2018 - Laureate Onroerenderfgoedprijs - Het Moment

2017 - Publica Awards, bronze in the category ‘city planning’ - Turnova master plan

2017 - Onroerenderfgoedprijs - Boterberg

2016 - Laureate Brussels voorbeeldgebouw (Be-Exemplary) - Centr'Al

2014 - Nomination Staalbouwwedstrijd - De Grote Post

2013 - Laureate Vlaamse Monumentenprijs - De Grote Post

2011 - Nomination Prix de la Maîtrise d'Ouvrage Publique, category 'promotion de l’approche intégrée' - L28

2007 - Laureate Brussels voorbeeldgebouw (Be-Exemplary) - L28

2003 - Award van de Belgische architectuur - Anyplace

2003 - Award van de Belgische architectuur - BSBbis

1999 - Antoon van Dyck Award, most promising architecture office

Our offices

How to get there

Office ,

Office Antwerp

Borgerhoutsestraat 22/01

2018 Antwerp


By public transport

B is located within walking distance of the Antwerp Central Station. There are several tram and bus stops close to our office.

If you’re using a Velo city bike, look at the map for the nearest Velo stations. You can put your own bike safely in the bicycle sheds on our office terrain.


By car

Parking your car in the streets may prove difficult and expensive. When you do, don’t forget to buy a ticket!

We advise you to use the underground car park of the Antwerp Central Station by entering ‘Van Immerseelstraat 2’ in your navigation system. It only takes a five minute walk from the car park to our offices.

Office Brussels

Bloemenhofplein 5

1000 Brussels


By public transport

B is located within walking distance of the Brussels Central Station. There are several tram and bus stops close to our office. From Brussels-North station, take tram 3 (Churchill) or 4 (Stalle) to the ‘Beurs’ stop; from Brussels-South station, take tram 3 (Esplanade) or 4 (Noordstation) in the other direction.

If you’re using a Villo! city bike, look at the map for the nearest Villo! stations.


By car

Parking your car in the streets may prove difficult and expensive. When you do, don’t forget to buy a ticket!

We advise you to use the car park Q-Park Lepage by entering ‘Léon Lepagestraat 23’ in your navigation system, or Q-Park Dansaert by entering ‘Nieuwe Graanmarkt 2’ in your navigation system. It only takes a five minute walk from these car parks to our office.